The University has 9-member Council appointed based on the Universities Act 2012 and Mwongozo. The Council is the governing body of the University mandated by the Government as the custodian of assets and responsible for resource allocation and development of the institution. It ensures that proper management structures are in place.  It gives the overall policy direction for the University and ensures compliance with all the relevant laws, regulations, governance practices, accounting and auditing standards amongst other functions.

Current Members

Dr. Rachael Masake

Chairperson of Council


Dr. George Onyango Ochiri


Mr. David Lusoka Mshila


Mr. Kenneth Kisang Kiprono


Ms. Catherine Nkirote Mputhia


Mr. Festus Mwanzi

Representing the CS, The National Treasury

Mr. Evans Atambo

Representing the PS, Ministry of Education


Mr. William Bill Omoding


Council Roles

  • The basic responsibility of the Council members is to exercise their best judgment and to act in a manner that they reasonably believe to be in the best interest of the University and its stakeholders. In discharging that obligation, the members should be entitled to rely on the honesty and integrity of the University Management, staff and its external professional advisors and auditors.


Wycliffe Ogaga

Head – Council Secretariat


The Council Secretariat is a critical Department in the University charged with coordinating and facilitating the administrative, logistical and boardroom operations of the University Council to ensure efficient and effective Governance of the University.


  1. To coordinate Council functions effectively and efficiently.
  2. To fast-track the implementation of Council resolutions.
  3. To maintain the confidentiality of Council deliberations and resolutions.



Ms. Gladys JebetAdministrative Assistant
Ms. Elizabeth Abong’oAdministrative Assistant
Ms. Celestine LiechOffice Assistant